Thirty Memorable Years: 1982-83

posted in: Thirty Memorable Years | 1

Season 3 1982-83

Squad numbers were allocated to the players for the first time this season; it certainly made it easier for Malcolm Fretter to produce the programme! Once the trials matches had been completed, the first game involving the final squad of 14 was at home to Deeside, needless to say the visitors won.

We lost the next two matches, 2-3 to Newbury in the Southern Counties Cup (goals from Paul Hogg and Michael Clark) and the County League match against Oxford City 1-4 (Alan Boswell scoring), before defeating Newbury in the Witney Cup 3-2, with goals from Paul Buck, Paul Hogg and Alan Boswell. A 6-0 League defeat at Reading followed and the next weekend the squad recorded their best result of the season, defeating South Oxon 8-3 with goals from Andrew Marriott, Paul Buck, Paul Hogg, Alan Boswell and two each from Edward Tilley and Iain Duncan. All 14 squad members went on the Easter Tour and we broke with the tradition of playing Deeside first; instead we played Wyre Forest on our way north and started the Tour with a win, 4-1 (three goals from Paul Hogg and one from Paul Buck). Deeside duly demolished us the following day. In our final match of the season we kept our first ‘clean sheet’ in the 4-0 win against Aylesford, our goals coming from Paul Buck and Iain Duncan, plus two own goals.

The squad members were, Alan Boswell, Paul Buck, Darren Burton, James Butler, Michael Clark, Iain Duncan, Andrew Gibbard, Paul Hogg, Richard Holt, Neil Jarvey, Andrew Marriott, Nigel Staples, Edward Tilley and Ian Woodley.

The captain was Michael Clark, Paul Hogg was top scorer with 22 goals and Andrew Gibbard received the President’s Trophy.


  1. paul hogg

    Those were the good old days! Hope you’re well!

    Paul Hogg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *